Got Me A New Love In Life

I took up the ukulele a while ago. It was a gift from friends- in fact, if you’re reading this, you’re probably the people who gave it to me. (thank you again!) I didn’t expect to take it seriously. I figured I’d mess around with it, realize it’s too hard and give up on it like I did with all the other musical instruments I’ve tried in my life.

This would be a short post if that was what actually happened.

Turns out there’s a ton of useful free resources for learning how to play the uke online. I won’t say that the instrument is easy to master, which would be silly, but the time delay between ‘just getting the thing out of the case’ and ‘playing something that is recognizable as music’ is very, very short. I am playing real music on a real musical instrument. That’s a powerful thing.

For Hanukkah this year, my mother gave me an especially nice ukulele: Lanikai’s spalted mango tenor, with a high-quality case to keep it in. It’s a gorgeous instrument, shiny and glorious. It’s my new baby. I have to figure out its name.

~ by CAMINE on December 2, 2010.

2 Responses to “Got Me A New Love In Life”

  1. You’ve seen “While my Ukelele gently weeps”, Amanda Palmer’s radiohead cover album, and Molly Lewis’s videos, right?

Leave a comment